the rushdown

so I started playing sf online recently because it’s not laggy as hell any more, but I’ve found a new trend in sf lately. I haven’t played too competitively because my group of friends really don’t play very well.

everyone I play has mad rush down fever, it’s not really a technical game any more, I mean I shoryukened this guy like 8 times in a match when he was jumping in, and he kept doing it like he was programmed to do so. at some point i was convinced he was gonna try something different, because SF is about mind games isn’t it? but most people really just try to get their game plan implemented rather than just fighting a different opponent and adapting to their styles like back in the day. I dunno, maybe it’s just that the games nowadays are more conducive to rushing down and old school sf was more conducive to turtling. I mean people rush me down in alpha 3. Akuma is a pain in the ass, adon, cammy, sometimes ken.

anyone got any good ideas on how to just destroy these people’s stratedgies so that the come out of cloud nine and back to mind games?

YEAH. keep winning and telling them they suck and their dad gives free bj’s to the males in the choir:wink:

Eh, if they’re winning, then they aren’t going to change, so as cheap as it sounds, the more you win, the more prone they’ll be to changing what they are doing. If they are doing the same thing over and over and losing, the most you can do is offer advice, though a lot of times those players aren’t all that much interested in improving.

thanks for the intelligent response

There’s been a good discussion about something related to this: http://www.neoempire.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=252&start=0

Well, as I see it, the rushdown (when done properly) can be quite fun and impressive to watch. In addition, turtling is occasionally written off as boring or cheap. I also know that a lot of people, when playing, love to destroy their opponent and a good way to do that is through a rushdown.