The Yang Ground Game Thread

yang

im fairly new with Yang and i havent seen much ground game beside c.weakkick>mantis slash or c.weakkick>Ex mantis slash.

any input will be greatly appreciated.

Well you definately haven’t seen cr.lk into mantis but I assume you are talking about cr.mk -> Mantis. Another pretty common link is cr.lk,cr.lk -> Ex Mantis and prolly the most common combo from the ground.

interest. your right i havent seen any of that.

utilize his lp to bait opponents in the corner and use the spacing in between to connect a low mk->EX zorro

EX: yun is in the corner after a low mk->EX zorro

you walk up about half space from him and throw out a st. lp (cr.lp baits better) if the yun goes for it…he’ll possibly throw out a cr.mp for space but then you can just use the space you have and connect a low mk->EX zorro

very effective most of the time

So basically… whiff punish. :wonder:

Yang’s ground game is obviously good. You’ve got multiple options that generally lead to knockdowns [and most of those options involve adding slashes to them] and the majority of his normals are fast. You can dance right outside of someone’s favored poke range [for instance, Ken’s low forward], and punish it with ex slashes. If they whiff it, ex it.

Stand forward is a decent normal to poke around with, it’s fast and annoying, it catches people walking around and even covers if someone jumps. It generally loses to lows, though. Sweep can be useful for catching people trying to move back from you, though if it gets baited you’re probably going to lose a lot of life.

Something good to keep in mind is to think of Yang’s slashes as extra pokes [ex slash especially]. If you’re in range, it doesn’t hurt to sometimes throw out a jab slash for some chip, pressure and meter.

Also, low short -> normal slashes tend to connect anyways because the opponent was slow on the block. No it doesn’t combo, but yes does it sometimes connect anyways.