This may be a stupid question, but i'm new to the FGC

This probably a stupid question, but i’m fairly new to fighting games, obivously i was into street fighter when i was young though.
Anyway, i’m confused about the 3 different versions… and which one i should be buying.
Do i need original street fighter 4, then i have to buy superstreet fighter 4, then i have to buy AE??

Whats the deal with that, an explanation on what i need to purchase would be very helpful! Thank you so much.

P.S: i play on xbox

Play the latest one…which is SSF4:AE.
You can find it standalone at stores or XBL Marketplace…

Thanks for joining sir. We have a newbie Saikyo dojo section for this type of question. Next time you have something that you feel might be silly to ask just unload there and we’ll get to it as soon as possible.

The current version of street fighter 4 being played is Super Street Fighter 4 Arcade Edition 2012. There are a couple of ways you can go about getting the game: 1) Buy Super Street Fighter 4 and then the Arcade Edition DLC or 2) Buy a physical copy of Super Street Fighter 4 Arcade Edition. Regardless of the route you take, your once you have the game loaded you’ll be asked to download an additional patch which is where the 2012 portion comes from.

The game has been updated several times which is why it has the long name. The latest version is the one that will most likely get played at tournaments and your local sessions. The latest version also has combos and characters that the latter versions do not.

^THAT!

And it will look like this:

okok , but in order to play AE, i dont need super street right?
just find a copy that says, Super street fighter IV : Arcade edition

the current version of SF4 is AE 2012, which was an online update/balance patch to Super Street Fighter 4.

if you had a Super Street Fighter 4 disc, you would need to buy the AE update via DLC to be current… but now you can buy the AE game on disc and then get the 2012 update via DLC.