Tips on a PS3 Arcade Stick?

Hey all. I’m new to the fighting game scene. Well I dabbed in a bit but Street Fighter 4 is the first one that I actually wanna become good at. I think my Dual Shock for ps3 has its limits and I think its time to upgrade to an arcade stick.

But all this talk about gates and flip flaps and sticks, and hooliehoops confuses me. Why cant I get a stick that’s decent, that gets the job done…thats accurate enough…I can just plug and play?

So if someone has suggestions on a decent stick thats good right out of the box, i’d love to know. i’m not looking to mod it and open it up and all that jazz.

Discuss

Get a Madcatz TE stick or a Hori Real Arcade Pro 3 stick.
Perfect out of the box and excellent quality for serious gaming

I didn’t want to make a whole new thread for this question, so sorry for hijacking your thread.

In the control configurations options of console SF4, you can input whether you are using a standard controller or an arcade stick.

What’s the difference between the two options? Would it be detrimental if I were using an arcade stick, but left the option on standard controller? How does this affect the way the game deals with inputs?

I didn’t know I had the option to do that? Lol.

the SE stick isn’t bad with all the mods.

ie bat-top, 8way gate, ultimate mod paper and elec tape feels great. I pref TE stick because its a wider base and just feels better on your lap like a dirty stripper.

rock’n the bat top 8way gate, since i’m a noob and can’t get used to a 4way.

This is just some different pre-set Button settings. With the official madcatz sticks, you actually don’t even have to change anything in there.

Just what you need. Something on your lap with you jerking the stick back and forth. Hmm…lol.

As for which arcade stick to get… I would get one of the Madcatz one (either the standard edition or the tournament one), or an Hori EX2. Some people also love the Hori Real Arcade pro sticks too.