Tips to avoid lag while playing sfiv online?

Im very new to this fighting game online matchmaking. Im planning in buying a ps3 next week, and Im going to play sf4/ssf4 hardcore, but the most viable option for me will be playing online.
I already have a wii and I connect to the internet via wifi (I use a router). I have been playing mario kart, and even though lag exists, the game is still playable. Then I wanted to play tatsunoko vs capcom, but the lag was just unbearable. Im in Los Angeles South California, and I was searching for players locally, but still sometimes lag was just bad. An opponent jumps, I push back in order to block his air attack, then I try to press down-back in order to block a crouch string combo … but because of lag, the down-back was inputted half a second later and I ate the whole combo.
I did some research, and theres people saying that I should port forward my router, do DMZ ( dont know whats that ), or buy a lan adapter and connect my console directly to the internet.
Is this the same with sfiv?
I have a verizon dsl, my download speed is 6.77mbps, upload speed 0.73mbps, and ping 30ms. My router is wrt54g2 by the way.
With this background, can I experience lag by playing with friends in the Los Angeles Area?
Do I need more speed like verizon fios?
Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Wired connection… pretty bad idea to play wirelessly… only bit of advice I can offer
:Waits for Bone Thugs album to download:

Thanks for the advice. My router is a wrt54g2. I really need that dmz tutorial.

I can’t say much about TvC’s netcode but I can vouch for SF4’s. You won’t be playing with game-changing lag most of the time if you play people with a 3 bar+ connection. A good connection and location go hand in hand. I haven’t done anything special and I get acceptable connections all around the country. Even in your area and im in NJ.(Shout out to SneakyJamez) Bottom line is you’ll have plenty of people with a good connection to play.