Tool-Assisted Combo Videos?

I’m sure everyone has heard of Tool-Assisted Speedruns. Check out bisqwit’s site for some crazy playthrough videos of classic games using all sorts of emulator tricks:
http://bisqwit.iki.fi/nesvideos/

By emulator tricks, they mean stuff like lowering game speed to one frame per second, pausing the game and using frame advance, and replaying the same segment over repeatedly until they get the desired result. Then when they play back the emulator movie they recorded, it plays in standard speed with all the crazy lucky one-frame one-in-a-million shit they did.

So my question is … does anyone know if that sort of stuff can be done using a CPS2 emulator?

I’ll admit that i’m very new to this and know next to nothing about how these vids are made. But i want to learn, because it seems like a cool way to make old school combo videos instead of trying the same thing 98798273948723434 times. That repetitive bullshit was by far my least favorite part of making combo videos. Now i realize that CvS2 isn’t emulated well enough yet, and even if it was my computer couldn’t handle it. But for now i’d be more than happy to do tool-assisted combos in a game like Alpha 3.

Any help, advice, clarifications, even naysayers will be appreciated. There are some videos that i’ve seen where i just can’t believe those combos were done by hand. For example, that whole SnH series of X-Men vs Street Fighter videos has waaaaaay too much bullshit for me to believe that no emulator tricks were used.