Traveling alone to tournaments?

I’m no stranger to tournaments. I’ve competed throughout the entire Halo series and I loved the tournament scene. What’s different between FPSs and fighting games is that FPSs are mainly team based. I always had a team with me to talk to. Since fighting games are (for the most part) 1v1, is it strange to go to tournaments by yourself?

I played SSF4 for the past 3 years on and off, but recently I’ve stopped playing all together because of school but I’ll be graduating next month. So after I graduate and get a job, I plan to go to tournaments a lot more, but I don’t have many friends that are into the fighting game scene. And I’ve tried to get them into it too, but they all say it’s too hard to get a hang of.

I’m not that good at these games either, I just like playing and watching them. I’d like to see how far I get in tournaments and watch some of these events in person.

Does anyone else go to tournaments alone, or am I just weird for asking this?

If you enjoy playing/watching fighting games…it does not hurt at all to attend the actual events with a friend or solo.

It’s a much different experience to actually be there than just watching it from a stream.

I go to tournaments alone…but leave having met/befriended other people who share the same passion for the fighting game community as I do.

It’s normal. Normally you go with your local crew (to save on gas money/room together/etc), but if you don’t have one, that’s fine.

You’ll find plenty of friends to hang out with there.

Going to events isn’t a bad thing to do alone. Majors may not be cost effective to do so, but if you have the disposable income, why not?

I always traveled to events with friends. Granted, I lived two hours from the nearest tournament scene in St. Louis so it wasn’t cost-effective for me to even go to Ranbats alone.