Trouble with online game connections? A little help would be welcomed!

Hey,

Just made my account on this forum, I’ve played a lot of ssf4 but this is my first time coming back to it after probably a year or so.

I have a major issue with my connection with online games;
I’m on PSN
I’'ve moved house and I went from a 20 meg internet speed with bt internet, to a 100 meg internet speed with virgin media…

It really doesn’t make sense to me…I look for games, I usually only go for 3 bars or above. Yet it still jitters every few seconds or so mid-fight.

Could anyone clarify why this is happening, or is it just bad luck??

Cheers in advance!

Yeah man, there are a few discussions about this going on right here in this forum. From what I’ve learned:

-SSF4 has bad netcode, matchmaking, and online modes to begin with, so a perfect connection is basically impossible- there will always be lag
-MBPS don’t matter compared to Latency. You and your opponent have to each have good connections with green bars for the best matches
-Wireless is crap compared to wired, so run an Ethernet cable directly into your PS3 from your internet source
-Apparently, Xbox has better online than PS3, but I wouldn’t know because i don’t have an Xbox.

There is probably more info out there, but that;s what I’ve recently seen posted.

I have a wireless connection with my PS3, and it’s usually not too bad. Granted, there are some garbage matches here and there, but for the most part it does ok. I am actually planning on moving my router closer to my console and running a cable in, just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

If you want, add me and see if our connections are decent or not, and if they are, we can battle.
PSN: DahcDerron