Tunnel Vision Affecting my Fighting Game Skills

Hey there! Although I heard how this forum tends to suffer newbies poorly, with the release of MvC3 I’ve been following the threads here more closely.

Anyways, I’ve been playing fighting games for about 3 or 4 years. I switch games a lot but started playing seriously with Guilty Gear. Well, technically I started with another series but it’s very embarassing so I’d rather not mention it. I’ve played many games after that, including Third Strike, CvS2, SSFIV, BlazBlue, Soul Calibur, and Tekken.

My problem is one that affects me in pretty much every game?I have tunnel vision when it comes to character mechanics. Let’s take SSFIV: I main El Fuerte. I have a decent grasp of his Tostada crossovers, etc. but I forget he has Quesadilla Bomb almost every match. Similarly, when I play Dudley I only remember three moves and, most cripplingly, one of the moves I forget is the duck.

Naturally, I’m terrible at Soul Calibur.

TL;DR I keep forgetting my characters’ moves, how do I break this habit?

You have to play a lot until use of those moves in the right situations is a habit/reaction rather than something you think about

I would get a job as a cook in a restaurant where you are forced to multi-task and tackle on lots of orders simultaneously. If you can juggle cooking a steak to be medium-rare, soft-boil eggs, boil shrimp (easy to over-cook), fry up pancakes, toast bread, deep-fry potatoes, and flip burgers all at the same time, then you’ll be able to remember all your moves in fighting games.

I’m at the point where I can beat a Starcraft II CPU (set on normal) while frying up some breakfast on the griddle. Eggs, sausage, bacon, hash browns, toast, coffee, orange juice, et al. I’m a pretty decent cook.