Twelve vs Chun

twelve

I’m new to twelve and aside from getting crushed by ken, i get crushed by chun. any tips?

The basics are:

• Attack from the air. Chun has no consistent anti-air, so she has trouble keeping Twelve out. The only thing you have to work your way around is Chun’s back + fierce but if you mix-up your air attacks (which you should be doing anyway), it won’t be that big a problem. Use IAD to get in Chun’s face and all the normal IAD options (FP/FK for throw set-ups, LP for tick throw set-ups, MP to beat out attacks) should work well against her. Also mix in normal jumps with FK, ‘normal’ air dashes and EX dives if Chun tries to meet you in the air with neutral jump FK (probably her best anti-air). You’ve got a lot to work with to get around Chun’s few options.

• If Chun parries your air attacks, she’s either going to go for cr.MK xx SAII or close FK, which leads to a kara-throw/cr.MK xx SAII mix-up when Twelve lands. Either way, block low. Eat the throw. That should be a slogan lol.

• Besides EX SBK and EX lightning legs, Chun has sucky wake-up options, so if you knock her down and she has no meter, it’s worth trying for cr.LK, LP AXE xx SAI. Hit confirm it, obviously :wink: If you get a knockdown from a throw or sweep, use IAD FK to close the gap - should open up Chun’s defence a little and make it easier to land the cr.LK, LP AXE xx SAI combo as she gets up.

• Use EX NDL for when Chun tries to build meter. Which will happen at some point.

• I don’t think Chun can punish a max range FP from the air if parried. She might be able to super it but I’ve not seen any Chun player even try this. Anyone?

• You shouldn’t be fighting on the ground against Chun but if you do end up close and on the ground, just use cr.MK to push you out of range, then start the flying mix-ups again.

• Never, ever, ever use standing FK on Chun with Super. Even if it hits her, she can reversal Super you. I’ve seen plenty of Chun players who will try this.