Two questions regarding knockdowns and lariats

Hello everyone, this is my first post on this board but I’ve been lurking for quite some time. I have two questions and stuff I need to work on. First is what to do after knocking down the opponent? I play Ryu so my current solution is to throw a fireball at a safe but everything else I tried doesn’t work. If I try to do a crossup they see it coming and block or I eat an auto corrected shoryuken. My second question is what to do against lariat spam when stuck in the corner? I don’t lose completely to it but when I get out it’s mostly by trying random shit. If I duck and turtle too much I get a SPD in the face. I would also like some tips against Sagat. I don’t usually have trouble with him but my friend’s Sagat gives me trouble.

I know those are noob questions but I’m still a novice. Thanks for your help and this forum, I learned a lot here.

For your first question, it really depends on who you’re fighting and in some cases how much bar they have. People can see a cross up (obviously, I mean you ARE jumping over his head) but what comes after that can be a multitude of things. You could cross up and do a block string if they block (or you get free damage if they don’t). You could empty cross up and grab them. You could cross up and then throw them. You could cross up, start a block string and then throw them.