U2 Uses/Punish options

abel

Hey guys, just hoping to have a thread started discussing when/where U2 is useful and in which matchups it can be more useful than having U1. Talking specifics here.

So far I haven’t found a ton of use for it - I have noticed I prefer having it in my pocket as a punish vs Vega, Bison, & T.Hawk. (wall dives, headstomps, & condor dives)

Where and in what matchups do you think U2 is best?

HAV if you read this I’d like to hear what u have to say (HAV is repping abel like a g on psn right now btw)

This was a good idea for a thread but nobody is responding. I’m curious myself but I choose to use ultra 1 the majority of the time just cuz I personally prefer to combo into ultras. Ultra 2 seems to work against everyone pretty well but the only time I would use it is against characters that are either really quick (fei long, juri, viper, ibuki,adon) or slow grapplers like gief or thawk. I’m relatively new to abel and don’t know all the properties of the ultra 2 tho. I mainly use it as a punish are an anti air.

this could be a cool thread if we could make it like the matchup thread with the spoiler drop down thing for each character and all the moves for them that are U2 punishable

Its mainly a counter attack move. You use it when your opponent jumps in the air or when they do a move with a bit of a recovery. I like to push my opponents towards the corner of the screen where it is impossible for most characters to escape by jumping.

That really wouldn’t be that necessary, all you need to do is find moves that are -8 in peoples frame data and there you have your u2 punishable moves
way too many to list tbh

The move does not even have to be -8 on recovery either. If they whiff a move at say half screen, like random shoryu or anything that isnt -8 - or something - you can do the ultra during the move itself.

Not being hit by blockstun adds a whole lot of options to this as a counter move.