UMVC3 for a complete beginner

hello i recently got umvc3 and i have no experience playing the game. i’ve already decided to play the team wolverine/ frank west / akuma unless anyone mangages to convince me other wise. My question is where to start? Where are the guides for general play? How do i learn the combos and mixups specific to my team? Thanks for any help

Your team is actually a fairly solid one; Wolverine and Akuma have tons of team synergy because Akuma’s Tatsu Senpukyaku assist eats up projectiles to make Wolverine’s approach safer. I think Frank West AND Akuma in the back is kind of redundant because their best assists are similar, but if you’re using an assist other than Shopping Cart (I don’t know, does Frank West have any other decent ones?), you get more versatility.

There’s several ways to start. The Shoryuken Wiki’s Marvel vs Capcom 3 Hyper Guide is pretty good. This page has several videos that introduce you to the basics of the game; learning DHCs (Delayed hyper combos), OTGs (Off-the-grounds), and other mechanics is a good idea.

To focus on individual characters, I’d suggest learning their basic gameplans and combos. Try watching videos of high level Wolverines/Frank Wests/Akumas; Noel Brown uses Wolverine and Frank West, while Justin Wong uses Wolverine and Akuma.