Using a Stick, One warrior's path walked alone

Feeling disenfranchised and alone right now. I mean Its not that serious as it is just a video game LOL. My friends have abandoned the mission of learning to use a stick. I brought my TE Fight stick and I must admit, It is very frustrating using this thing, as I have used a Pad for most of my fighting game experience.

I am a lone warrior on this mission to learn Stick, should I continue on or just Quit and go back to Pad.

I need some Pros to using a stick here…Is it seriously going to make me a better player?

practice

practice the rolling motions until you get them consistently.

Don’t ride the gate.

If you can’t make the adjustment, play with charge characters.

Don’t worry, im also just learning how to play on a stick. I’ve been playing ST and 3s for nearly 2 years (which is short compared to most others here @ srk) and until now i had been using a pad exclusively. A while ago i considered getting the SoulCaliber4 sticks when they came out but by the time i put the money aside the SF4 sticks were announced so i just decided to wait.

Long story short, im much much worse with my stick than i was with a pad… For now. I honestly believe that you will eventually realize you can only do so much with a pad and that Street Fighter is and always has been made for the layout of a stick. I began to get to a point in Third Strike where i started getting pretty good with a pad and was able to hold my own on GGPO and hdremix for a while, but i lacked the ability to pull off things like kara-throws; and other techniques that require far more dexterity then my thumb could provide.