V3SA vs SFTE Round 2 (Also, where to buy parts?)

Hi everyone,

First let me say I this is my first time buying an arcade stick. I have looked around a good bit and from what I can tell, these two sticks are basically the same. Correct me if I am wrong on that.

The only difference I could find is that some said the Mad Catz is heavier and with me buying through my Amazon Prime subscription, it’s also $30 more expensive.

What I am interested in is possibly replacing the gate with an octagonal. I would also like to put custom artwork on the stick. I didn’t know if the Mad Catz is simply a clear top shield that can be unscrewed and the artwork replaced or if that is one piece. Edit: Nvm about the artwork, I found the thread on here that details it out.

The last thing is, what’s a good place to buy an octagonal gate for either stick?

Thanks for any help!

Sanwa GT-Y Octagonal Restrictor Plate

Since they both use Sanwa JLF’s you should be golden.

They are both good sticks, if the HRAP is $30 cheaper I’d definitely get that. Even if they were the same I’d probably the HRAP. I didn’t realize HRAP V3’s were lighter than TEs. I’ve used a VLX and that thing is definitely heavier (but it’s $300 and has a metal case).

If you want to get a TE you might want to wait a week. Markman said on his twitter that there’ll be a new promo for Final Round.
Twitter

I strongly recommend sticking with a square gate. Octo gates extend the stick’s throw and basically makes them feel like garbage. After getting used to square, you’ll never look back.

Ok, thanks for the heads up on the promo.

I am not sure which stick I am going with yet but leaning towards the TE. Since both of these are good sticks, my last concern is just how easy doing my own artwork will be. There are a lot of guides for the TE, altough I am getting the Round 2 and not sure if the dimensions are different.