Very basic Ken questions

So I lost to a Ken player the other day fair and square, but a few things in the match threw me for a loop. I know these are very basic questions but I’m at the stage where I’m still learning the basic mechanics of SSF4.

First off I’m a total sucker for the standard Ken/Ryu j. HK to c.HK. I fall for that every time. I think my problem is that I’m crouch blocking the j.HK and that gets through every time. Is that considered an overhead and can’t be blocked when crouching? I assume that I need to block standing then block crouching to be safe from the j.HK c.HK combo…correct?

Secondly, I tried to throw Ken after a whiffed shoryuken but he hit me with a second one as soon as he hit the ground. I would have thought there would have been a second to punish him after he landed but it seemed like he was able to launch the second shoryuken as soon as he touched down. Was my timing off or should I just punish him in the air on the way down?

Lastly, I seem to be a sucker for the wake up shoryuken (not the podcast…but I guess I am a sucker for that as well ^_^). Even when I’m blocking I seem to get hit with that. Should I be crouch blocking the shoryuken?

Again, I realize these are very noob type questions but we all need to start somewhere and I’d appreciate any insight you all could offer…Thanks! :slight_smile:

yes, block standing then crouching.

i dont play sf4 so i dont know how fast kens jab SRKs come out, but im sure someone will make a comment about how to punish those.

you must not be blocking. you CAN block shoryus standing or crouching.

Yes you need to stand block then cr. block

If it’s online and its SSF4 I wouldn’t even try if its a wiffed lp.srk

It doesn’t matter how you block it. standing or crouching works.

Np I’m really bored.

EDITED: T_T I got beat to the reply and he gave the same advice as me XD

Thanks to both of you! That answers my questions perfectly :slight_smile: