Vpn issue's with windows 7 (professional help needed)

so i’m a low level systems administrator (AS in computer network systems). and i manage a vpn server for my office among other duties, anyways i am encountering intermitent problems between a windows 7 machine and our vpn server. it gets error 800 fairly often (multiple times per day) on that machine only.

so the setup is this:

the vpn is setup pptp behind a netgear firewall, no problems occur when vpn’ing from outside the office. inside the office i have a wireless router attached to the network via our switch, and 2 employee’s work on their laptops through this wireless network. now idk if this is good practice but they connect to the wireless network. but then to access network resources they need to connect to our vpn server. the 2 os’s connecting are windows 7 and mac os 10 but the problem only occurs for the windows 7 machine.

so i was told port forwarding could help but i’m not entirely sure on how i need to set it up in this instance. i know vpn’s port is 1732 (or something like that) but what i read said i’m supposed to forward that port to the vpn servers internal address which i can’t find for the life of me, any assistance with this even stuff that seems extremely obvious would be appreciated (i ussually miss the most obviouse answers to questions).

Internal address? As in, the server’s IP address? That’s all I’m drawing here. That would be as easy as adding the server’s IP addy into the Port Forward list. That’s how I would interpret it, anyway.

Also, do you have access to the user’s profiles in Active Directory? Make sure their Dial-In tab is set to Allowed. Otherwise VPN will not function. I hope that helps a little!

hmmm i didn’t even think about it being that simple… i assumed it had to be something more than that… but now that your saying it that actually sounds incredibly reasonable.