Want to get into fighting games

I’m pretty new to the fighting game scene, any fighting games i have played in the past i just button mashed my way through. I want to actually sit down and learn a game. I wanted to know where the best place to start would be. I’m trying to decide between Super Street Fighter 4: Arcade Edition or Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3.I used to have the original mvc3 and i rented ssf4 and both games had something i liked about them. I like the characters in mvc3 but i find the combat can be to chaotic at times. As for ssf4 i liked the simple one on one game play but i found alot of the moves were to hard for me to pull off(i couldn’t even do a super). Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Ps i only have a regular controller as i am too broke to afford a decent arcade stick.

I’m no expert on 2D fighters, more of a 3D guy but I think:

For control pad, I find UMvC3 better, it doesnt have the 2xQCF type motions which makes it easier to play on pad in my experience.
Having said that, UMvC3 for me is really not newbie friendly, contrary to what a lot of people say. The minute you get hit, you might as well drop the controller because it will be quite a while before you have teh chance to control your character again.
SF4AE on the other hand is difficult because it’s been out a while and people online are quite good at it by now so expect quite a few spankings.

i would suggest SSF4AE between the two simply because you will learn the fundamentals of fighting games better playing that rather than UMvC3, which is quite the combo-fest.

Thanks for the advice. I was leaning more in Super Street Fighter 4: AE’s direction anyway. I have already accepted the fact that i will loose quite often.

Have you thought about maybe SFxT? Slightly more forgiving entry point from my personal experience