Want to make the switch to fighting games! Help!!

Alright so i’m a semi professional starcraft2 player for pmsclan.com , Biggest gamer girls organization in north america, i play for H2O their male counterparts.
Anyway i’m actually getting sick of starcraft, in order to compete with the best in that game you need to be playing at least 8-10 hours a day, with school and a part time job, that seems highly unlikely and i should of stopped sc years ago.

After watching Evo 2012, i was hooked, there was something about this years evo that just changed my mind about fighting games. I watched 2011 and i liked it too and i always told myself i would give fighting games a try, but 2011 didnt get me hooked like evo 2012.

My question is should i be getting a xbox? or a ps3?
I’m not trying to go fully pro or anything cause i do go to school/work, but i want to be able to go to a evo or any tournament and at least make it through day 1 , thats my goal this year.
Is it true that xbox live plays the games better? and all the pro players are on live?
What is so bad about the ps3 and pSN?

I most likely will be playing AE, marvel and mk9. thos are my favorites

thanks for your help! I really hope to be a part of this awesome community.

I think a large part of the player base is on 360, but you shouldn’t count out Ps3,PC if its easier for you to attain those means.

Wait, are you saying you want to make it to top 8 at EVO?

From what I understand, xbox is better for online but (some one correct me if I’m wrong) all he tournies seem to use ps3. That’s all the info I can contribute, good luck it’s worse than a jungle out there.

Until this year, making it through day 1 meant getting out of pools since quarter/semi finals were day 2 and top 8 day 3. I think that’s what he meant. And honestly that’s not unrealistic a goal for someone who already has a discipline and tournament nerves.