Way to test wired connections to PCB before pushbuttons arrive?

I ordered some parts from Lizard Lick 4 days ago, but with their backlog, there’s no telling when I’ll get them. I took to soldering my Madcatz PCB last night, and since it is my first time ever soldering, I would like to test everything. Is there an easy way to test my connections with something else to see if they work? Or will it be easiest to just wait until my pushbuttons get here?

A multimeter is a great tool.

Great, because I have one. :slight_smile: Unfortunately, I’m not too good with one. :frowning:

Care to give me a couple of quick tips on what to check for? I’m not good with voltages, resistance, etc, but I know the terms and that I can check them. Do I need to plug my PCB into the 360 to test? Do I need to connect my two ground wires on my Madcatz PCB before plugging in and testing?

I appreciate any quick tips you can give me.

Use it as a continuity tester. Put one probe at the end of your wire. Then touch the other probe to the pads of the pcb. So, let’s say you put the probe on the ‘up’ button. When you touch the up pcb the multimeter will either ‘beep’, display ‘short’ or show zeros. This means that you have a completed circuit there.

Now, depending on what kind of multimeter you have, you’d have different options. Some of mine have a built in continuity test, they beep and all kinds of stuff.

http://www.acmehowto.com/howto/homemaintenance/electrical/continuitytest.php

Here’s what you’re looking for:

1. That the end of your wire and the spot you wired to are connected (shorted out).
  2. That the end of your wire and * all other spots you soldered to are NOT connected*

This becomes increasingly easy. With 12 solder spots, you check the first one against the next eleven. Then with the second one you check against the remaining ten (since you already know about the first and the second one). The third one you check against the remaining nine, and so on.