''What a pain'' ~ The Absolute beginners thread

c-viper

This thread is meant for people who are new to Viper. Chances are you’ve played other characters before your journey of street fighter led you to this complex character, so fundamental basics will not be explained here. I made this because I felt there are many people interested in her but have no clue on how to aproach and play her (much like myself when I first started).

C.Viper is probably the hardest character that has ever appeared in the series, but if you’re willing to put effort into her the payback will great and you put fire and lightning everywhere before you know it! Anyway, lets start off with the basics, what does she excel at and what are her weaknesses?

Strong points

• Amazing mixup game due to feinting, overhead, superjumps etc.
  • Has the ability to stun opponents very quickly when you’re going bananas.
  • A very mobile character, thanks to her superjump she can flash all over the screen, walkspeed is good aswell.
  • Combos (especially advanced ones) look very flashy, fuck yeah!
  • Because she is so complex there is much to learn.

Weak points

• Low stamina (900) means she can’t take much damage.
  • Advanced character, so when starting out you will lose alot (don’t worry though)
  • Has some annoying matchups such as E.Honda and Balrog (jabjabjab…).

So you have a fast, fragile character that can be very scary in the hands of a proper player that knows his stuff.
To me, the advantages outweigh the negative by far. You might be wondering allright that’s a nice list but where do I actually start?! I’ll tell you where, with basic combos. Here is a list of combos that are ‘easy’ if you’re new to Viper and will always be useful. Learn these well so you don’t look like a overly enthousiastic fool doing burn kicks out of nowhere!