What am I doing wrong?

So, I’m no newbie to the fighting game scene, I’ve been playing fighters since I was a kid, and now I intend to get a bit more serious in order to compete with my friends and hopefully on a tournament level. I bought and customized my own fight stick (which doesn’t add or subtract from my skill) I’m just having a hard time doing combos and keeping consistent. I play UMvC3, P4A, BlazeBlue, Street Fighter, and Guilty Gear. Should I be focusing on training mode? Online? Challenges? I know this is a broad question, and anyone just giving me tips that helped them, or general tips would be greatly appreciated. Also, no “trolls” please.

You can start off by reading the FAQs in the Newbie section as well as the FAQs in each specific game sub-section you’re trying to learn. They are often a great source of information for newer players.

It’s difficult to give you tips without knowing exactly what you’re struggling with. General advice would be things like focusing on your fundamentals. Understand how to properly defend yourself, control your zone, understand how to utilize your normal attacks in a variety of situations, how to apply mix-ups, how to adapt your opponent’s play style, learning the game engine, learning the matchups, maximizing the potential in your character, etc etc.