What do you need to extend the headset port from an Xbox 360 PCB?

Post is in the title, pretty much. I’m a complete newb, so I’m asking where the hell I need to go and what to ask for in terms of wire and connectors. I’m figuring I can just run an extension cable of some kind from the original headset port to a hole outside the box?

Sorry if this is a common question, but I did spend twenty minutes searching the forums and reading FAQs. Everyone just seems to gloss over this part.

2.5mm Stereo Plug/Jack M/F Cable - 3ft. Most people drill a small hole from what I’ve seen.

ah, good of you to remind me of the headphone jack! I completely forgot about it while planning for the things to purchase for my custom stick!

Actually, I like to chat with my opponents in SF IV. Mostly, we having quite funny conversations - and no trash talk, which is good. :slight_smile:

Doesn’t using that make it always register as having a headset plugged in?

I’ve seen someone say that before but I don’t understand what the problem is. If you aren’t talking then you aren’t talking. Playing online is considerably less fun without a headset.

Wait, so it DOES constantly register as having a headset plugged in? I just got a wireless headset, but I wanted to keep my headset port available in case the battery dies on me. If the joystick thinks it has a wired headset plugged in, it won’t work with the wireless one. Is there a better way to extend that port?

You could try to desolder the port add wires and place it where u want it on the stick.

Yeah, that may be possible with the Mad Catz Arcade PCB. It has a white ribbon cable (see the bottom center) for the headset jack.

But there’s no way to plug in an extension cable without it thinking a headset is plugged in? I have a different PCB altogether, and removing the headset port isn’t something I’m comfortable or skilled enough to do anyway.

Erm … I tried desoldering the headset port from 2 pcbs … and those things are really fragile.