What does this mean and should I use this character?

I am your average beginner noob and I got SSF4 a week ago. I’m still learning the mechanics and I use the Xbox 360 controller. I’ve looked on TONS of tutorials on Youtube but not one of them has answered this question.

What in the heck does this mean?

> lk.tatsu, c.hp, lk.tatsu, s.lk, hp.SRK

I was looking up character specific combos and I had no idea what the guy was talking about. Any help?

And also, my favorite character is obviously Sakura. But if I’m a beginner should I start out with another character like Ryu or Ken? That’s all I have to ask.

Light kick tatsu, crouching heavy punch, light kick tatsu, (not sure), heavy punch shoryuken.

Sakura is a low-tier character(according to her stats), so its going to be a bit of a challenge to use her.

Tatsu refers to the name of Ryu and Ken’s Hurricane Kick. It can also be used to refer to any other Hurricane Kick, even if it is not exactly the same as Ryu/Ken’s or has a different name (like Gouken’s and Sakura’s).

LK = Light Kick (aka “Short”)
HP = Hard Punch (aka “Fierce”)
c. = crouching
s. = standing

Does that mean I should use someone different?

That depends. Do you like to play Sakura and are willing overcome the challenge of playing a lower tier character?

Yes. My main character on Dead or Alive 4 is a low tier too.

So i take it you either Bass, Lisa, or Tengu ;p

To a beginning player the tier rankings shouldn’t mean anything. Even SF4 is not so simple that a beginner can just take a good character and magically succeed. The things a beginner SHOULD take note of is what are her strengths and weaknesses and base their opinion on that. And even that should come after you learn how to play.