What draws/pushes you to/away from a fighting game?

Hopefully that title makes sense but anyways I’m pretty new to the fighting game community and I’ve noticed that although each game has at least a decent sized community, SF4 and UMVC3 seem to stay on top. I definitely enjoy playing and watching both of those but I still wonder about the other games e.g. KOF 13, P4, Arcana, Blazblue, SCV, etc. I always try to watch vids on SRK or Eventhubs and still have no idea why the communities for some games are extremely tiny.

So essentially I’m looking for definitive reasons as to why the communities aren’t intertwined. I know there are a lot of fighting games out right now so it’s almost impossible to play them all competently but to see games that are of sound making struggle is confusing. Is it the difficulty of execution? Art direction? Character relation/identification? Age? I know it’s not really a pressing matter or anything but just wanted some thoughts on this. For me it’s execution (even though mine is particularly awful XD) and then relation. Anything constructive is welcome and thanks!

USA likes Capcom games.

Both SF4 and MVC3 are extremely execution heavy games but Capcom successfully fooled the masses to think they are noob friendly.
Yeah they are noob friendly… for “1 week” level of play. As soon as you decide to get serious you hit the execution wall. I’d say most of the other games people play are overall easier. (Varies depending on character but still…)

People just like w/e capcom makes.

yeah capcom seems to have the US on lockdown that’s for sure and agreed on the advertisement, I’m garbage at marvel and I’m slowly but surely getting better at SF4 (i think) but ppl do tend to label those as noob friendly games

Broken shit. I.E. you have to counter pick or play retarded to beat a retardedly op character. Chun li in 3S.

Dumbed down input shortcuts.

Comeback mechanics.

Gems.

Anything produced by Capcom in the last few years.