What else can you do with electronics besides building joysticks?

I’m an electronics noob, having only gotten into it with the launch of SF4 and the joystick craze. I’ve built two XBox 360-compatible Saturn controllers and recently finished my own custom-built stick (although I still plan to add light-up buttons once my LEDs arrive)

And now, well, I think all my video game controller needs have been satisfied–I really don’t have any reason to start building another stick. What else makes a good project for an electronics beginner? I’m a lot better at soldering now and I understand a lot more about how circuits work, but I don’t know what else I can use this stuff for! I know there are a lot of electronics geniuses that post here–what would you guys recommend?

(Check out the custom I built, btw!)

http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/7484/dsc01943p.th.jpg
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/4048/dsc01945dzm.th.jpg
http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/6923/dsc01946s.th.jpg

You could read books about electronic fundamentals (if you aren’t doing so already).
You could also try learning how to program PICs. Being able to program your own microcontroller can let you make a lot of fun projects.

I know you’re trying to do something non-stick project, but for my friend’s son’s first birthday I built him a [hideous looking] arcade stick. I programmed a microcontroller to make a different key note sound for each of the buttons and joystick movements. All of his presents were store bought gifts, but guess which one was his favorite? Guess which of all those toy’s he’s been playing with still? Soon, I will have to take it back and install a ps3 sixaxis into it so he can play with it for reals.