What is it about ZONK?

cody

I’ve been doing alot of thinking on how Cody’s game could be expanded using the smallest change…and I have a question. Why does ZONK not just come out whenever you want? On wakeup for example why doesn’t it come out the instant your “up”? Like srk for instance…this is also seems to be true after blockstun. Was this something implemented to keep the move from being abuseable?

On that same note I was considering what if regular ZONK was either special cancelable (into CU) or FADCable after the “dodge” phase? Kinda like how 2hit normals are special cancelable. Just a thought, I’m not really good at sitting back and theorizing about all the possible situations and whatnot so I thought I’d post to get some input on whether this would be useful to his game without being broken.

u doing it simply to fast. if it doesn’t come out, you let go in your wake up frames or your block stun. zonk is like the slowest reversal in the game. lvl 1 has 16 frames start up, lvl 2 17 and lvl 3 18 frames. (that’s SIX times a srk start up). that’s the reason it get stuffed quite good or simply blocked, because their moves have recovered in that time.

don’t get your second part. zonk isn’t special cancable, which wouldn’t even make sense considering it’s a special itself. and yes, we all would like to have a FADC on it (on mk+lk ruffian aswell : D) but it didn’t happen in AE so maybe we won’t ever see it in sf4.

i dont play cody so i could be wrong but i think, you are just releasing the button a bit too early on wakeup/after blockstun, that’s why it doesnt come out, the difference between zonk and the srk is that a srk gives you negative edge at the release of the button so you have a better chance of it coming out on the first possible frame, the zoonk has to be timed perfectly to come at the first possible frame.