What Makes a Fighting Game good?

I’ve noticed a lot of argument since I started playing fighting games more seriously concerning certain games being either great or utter failures. For example, Blazblue to me, is a great game and most people I play it with also enjoy it. Yet many people from what I hear dislike Blazblue.

So I guess what I’m asking is "Are these arguments about the quality of these games simply bias opinions based on some nostalgic sentiment (comparing BBCT to Guilty Gear, or TVC to the MvC2)? Or are there certain elements these games lack that keep many people from taking them seriously?

Finally: In an ideal competative fighting game, what are some things you look for?

BLOOD! AND FATALITIES!

:zzz:

SSF4: Guy (Main), Vega, Juri, Seth,
BBCS: Hakumen/ Hazama
MVC2: Working on it. Having higher hope form MvC3 though, looks to be more my pace.

Shin Nihon Kikaku

[/thread]

^this

When you make a single mistake you should lose

It’s hard to answer the question since everyone has different tastes, but generally speaking- The game should promote offensive play and reward it.

For example in TVC if you are fighting a team of whatever and tekkaman, and he is sitting on 4 bars, he can burst out of your combo, then start a super, then dhc into tekkaman’s laser super which is guaranteed to hit and do like 40% damage.
So you get punished for hitting the opponent, which is bad design.

A good fighting game allows for a good representation of a wide range of skill levels. Win rate should be directly proportional to skill level in a good fighting game.

Balance is also good, but there are many banana munching apes who would disagree.

Big anime tittays