What should a new Viper be doing in Training mode?

c-viper

I’m actually new to SF in general, but what should I practice with Viper? I’ve been playing SSF4: AE (and Viper) for only 3 weeks.

From watching vids and talking to some of my friends locally, I’ve listed some things to get more comfortable with in Training mode: Seismo Chains, Seismo > HJC BK, HJ OTG BKs (these are really tough for me to do consistently), BK crossups on wake up, practicing AA, and a really basic OS: cr.MP/MK/HP into MP TK after blocking.

Does this seem like a good training “regime”, or is there anything I should add/take away? I’ve been toying with FFF, but I don’t know if that’s something I should really add, considering how newb I am :sunglasses:

Basically, you’re doing well as you’re focusing on grasping the basics. But I do suggest you add feinting in the mix and that you add c.lp, s.lk, c.mp xx thunder knuckle as a basic BNB. Get comfortable with C.MP xx MP TK as a staple punish and alternate with C.HP xx EX Seismo as another staple punish. What’s also very important is that you learn some simple blockstrings, like s.lk, s.lk, c.mp xx TK Feint. And as you’re practicing those crossup BK’s, get familiar with the Anti-DP setups. Remember though, some characters can avoid these with moves that lower their hitbox, so use them sparingly against shotos.

Learn how to feint your chained seismos and learn how to use thunder knuckle feints in blockstrings. I strongly suggest you start getting comfortable with doing HP TK feints as early as you can for it’ll help you in the long run. Also, don’t just practice AA, but practice AA into Ultra. Get familiar with the timing and learn to determine when you’re too far or in range.

As for OS’es, I’d also add J.HP > EX Thunder Knuckle to catch teleporters (Bison, Akuma, Seth, Dhalsim).