What ways do you guys improve your reaction times?

I’m a newbie to fighting games and I find that my reaction times are miserable. I know what to do but I can’t execute in time. Are there any exercises or things you pros do to improve/maintain your reaction times? Thanks!

Here’s what I recommend:

1. Consider your opponent’s options.
  2. Anticipate.
  3. Don’t hesitate. When the time comes, just act.
  4. Don’t give up. Trust your instincts.

And you mileage may vary, but try using the recording function in training mode to get you started. Other than that, the only way you’ll truly get better is to apply any and everything in matches to see what does and doesn’t work.

KumaOsa covered what I would have said.

Basically, if you know your opponent could do say, 1 of 3 options, it’s far easier to react. Conversely, if you didn’t expect it you’re not going to react very well at all. With experience you’ll learn the options in the game and be more comfortable anticipating moves.

I never trained my reaction time

but you can go into training mode and use random block, which is there for that very reason

you can do fadc ultra/throw

take speed.

Make your counters/execution second nature. Learn to limit your opponents option; then everything KumaOso said becomes a whole lot easier.

Also, feeling optimistic, being unafraid to lose, having fun and overall feeling good about yourself and life also helps.

Easier said then done. Everything here comes with practice, you can’t just do all this shit by thinking about it, the game and it’s movements have to become second nature before you’ll be able to succesfully do this.

So #1 is practice! Alot. Against real people. Learn your character and matchups through and through.