When learning a new character

What are the things you make sure to do/learn before you even consider taking them to the streets? How long do you wait before actually trying them out against real people? Basically, if you were asked what the ideal manner of learning a new character in any fighting game was, how would you answer?

Depends on the game. I started playing ST for the first time in my life on GGPO starting this week. Decided to main Balrog. Went cold turkey without reading anything and lost many games. In between sets, I read a bit about how the character work, the moveset, and game mechanics.

So the best start would be to know the basics of the game and your character, learning more detail as you go along.

The goal is to have fun.

I would learn all the bnbs and I would learn which move is best as an anti air and which moves are best for footsies.

After that, id take the character into casuals.