When life and repetition prevent advancement

Hi. This post describes me and my journey with SF. It may be a little long for some people. :wonder:

To give some history about myself… I’ve been around SF since SF2 was in the arcade. I was born in 1982 and remember SF1 in the but never played it. I’ve been around video games most of my life. I started playing Blanka and Guile in SF2 because they were easy to use and later switched to Ryu when SF2 came out for SNES (boy, that was exciting as hell…). I even had the SF2 Turbo VHS promotional tape! I spent countless hours playing SF2, SF2T, and SSF2 on the SNES from 1992-1996. I even knew Guile and Vega’s infinite dizzy for SNES. Killer Instinct was my other primary fighting game. I then got my first PC in 1995/6 and stopped playing on the console for many years.

I skipped out on the SF Alpha series and anything in between up until SF3:3S. A few years ago some friends and I discovered it and made it a new hobby. We played in that arcade in the Southern CA area (Family Fun Arcade) and on the console for a few months, but my friends would soon improve faster than I could.

I’ve always felt some sort of entitlement to be a realy good player because I’ve been around the game for so long, but having that ego that doesn’t really work. Who wouldn’t feel that way after being around the game for so many years? I got SF4 (PS3)right away and adjusted pretty quickly (I use an arcade stick), but found that again, others online are far superior in skill and I’m not really improving, if at all a very disappointing pace.