Where do I even begin?

Hey folks. I’m a complete noob to both the site and fighting games and thought I would first, introduce myself and second pose a question. I’ve been a comic book fan for over 20 years and a gamer too and so recently this led a friend to buy me UMvC3 as a gift. Now, I’m a gamer but fighting games are something I have never messed with other than having a buddy come over and show me how he can do some of the seriously awesome moves. I have never really given the genre a serious shot but it was a gift so I had to at least play it and that’s when I learned something: I may suck horribly but my God I love it. It was fun as all get out and I was just in training mode! I really want to go far with this but I have trouble executing even the most simple of Cap`s moves (Charging Star and Shield Slash.) I just beat very easy mode this morning and it’s been a week and it wasn’t pretty. My question is, if I really want to train up and try to learn these combos, where do I start? I am taking time in training mode to try and get the basics and even put the dummy on easy to try and learn some blocking technique while it attacks. I’m a beginning beginner and even the newest newbies are probably more familiar than I am so how does one take the plunge? Should I even bother trying? That said, any advice is greatly appreciated and I plan to keep at it as long as I can stand it. Thanks guys and a fond hello to you all.

For now keep playing arcade mode, spend some time in training mode, start doing the trials. Just mess around for now until you can do all the special moves. in training mode just practice the special moves and get used to the ranges that the normal moves connect since you need to connect normals to start combos. You will get a lot of advise here that will be too advanced for you, so for now just keep playing until the little man on the screen dose what you want him to do