Where do I start?

Hi guys, I’ve only picked up SSF4:AE last weekend and I gotta say I’m lost.
I’ve played the challenge mode with quite a few characters and the one I seem to enjoy the most is Juri.

My question is where do I begin? Finish all the Challenges? I’m stuck on one right now. I’ve been only playing the Arcade mode to try to force myself to use the things I’ve learned from the challenges.

Should I look into the Combo thread and start working on getting the combos in Arcade mode?

It’d be great if someone could help me go in the right direction. I’ve been reading all the guides in the Newbie and Juri sections. They’ve been quite helpful, but I learn best “hands on” so to speak.

P.S. I’m new to fighters. I’ve been a lurker of the scene for a little, but never got around to actually playing until now.

Thanks in advance. If this in the wrong forum, or there are threads already covering this, please redirect me and close this. I did do a search, but maybe my searches where too generic.

The challenges are a great way to get a feel for the game. Some of the combos aren’t completely practical, but they’re worth doing for your character. Spend time in training mode really getting a feel for your character. Then just hit up online and take it from there.

Okay, let me ask you first, are you trying to be a competitive type player, or are you just wanting to be the king of the hill amongst your friends? It’s okay if you aren’t looking to be a tourney player, but depending on how far down the rabbit hole you are willing to go there are varying degrees of what you can do.

If you are just looking to beat the CPU, it’s way different than beating a person. People are generally the tougher challenge, so if you are looking to beat human opponents, it takes some gradual steps up, but you can get it.