Where do the pros play?

Hey SRK.com forum!

First, I’m a noob to the SF scene and I absolutely love the SRK.com site and the community. Definitely looking forward to becoming apart of it.

Question: Where do the pros play? I currently have SFIV for PSN but I noticed that the 360 forums are very active.

Do the pros even play online? Or do they spend most of there time playing in live tournaments and traveling across the country?

One more random question: I don’t have a stick yet, I’ve browsed the sticky’s regarding available sticks, but I’d like to hear some opinions on this and figure out some places to shop. I’m also open to the idea of building my own.

Looking forward to the responses.

At my house.

Most top players come from areas with an active arcade scene.

You can’t go wrong with a Hori Real Arcade Pro 3 for your PS3. It’s a good quality stick and is easy enough to mod if you choose to do so down the line.

Welcome to SRK.

Beat me to it.

Lemme know when you wanna get some games in. I got a car.

If you’re just getting into Street Fighter, I wouldn’t recommend that you run out and grab a stick immediately. See how you like the game first, mess around, see if it’ll keep you interested, then think about getting serious.

Also, I don’t think now is a good time to shop for sticks. SFIV has inflated their prices insanely.

Got it. Thanks for the advice guys. I used to play tournament in MvC2 - never took it too seriously and pretty much sucked (spent most of my time playing Starcraft competitively). Do we know if MadCatz is releasing TE 2.0 sticks?

From the time I’ve spent playing SFIV on the controller, I feel like that game is 100% intended to be played on a stick. Whereas some of the Alpha’s etc, was a bit more manageable.

So most of the pros who have a good local scene play at the arcade?

Fuck these guys, I got beer and candy. I’ll send a limo.