Where do you start?

dhalsim

I’ve been playing SSFV for a month or two now, using Seth as my main. I am really interested in trying out Dhalsim, but he is really different compared to most (if not all) of the characters in the roster. I have no idea where and how to start learning Dhalsim. I have done the trial for Dhalsim already and I am still pretty clueless.

I just started playing with sim the other day. So far what I’ve focused on is this:

Get a basic understanding of which pokes to use when. Basically figure out how far each goes and how fast and try to understand which to use and when.

Learn your basic Anti-Airs. People generally fit into 2 categories online. The kids that play ryu and turtle fb war you and everyone else… aka the jumper/rushdown kids.

Against the guys who try to outzone you you’ll have to start picking up using your fb and knowing the proper spacing. For example a lot of ryu’s will fb and just hold +back. What I find myself doing in these situations is throwing my own fb and then using light and medium slides after the fb to immediately regain the distance lost by them holding back. They’ll only be able to run so far before they hit fullscreen. I’m finding that the best spacing is around 3/4 screen or so for me. From here I can fb and also st.hp will hit as well. It’s also a good distance for AA. From that range if they’re dumb enough to jump just back+hk them out fo the air.

If you’re playing the rush happy jumpers who are closer to you then you’ll have to use back+mp which does a better job of hitting above you and hitting the closer range jump ins.

If they manage to get point blank to you, you’ll want to know to use a sequence of pokes like this:

back+st.lk > back+st.mk > st.lk.