Which character to choose?

Hey, I’m really stuck on which character to choose. How can I choose my character?

I thought about Dan, but a lot of people say he’s not worth playing (because he’s so bad) and is a “joke character”.
Then I thought about Sakura, but as I got to play her more I started realizing I didn’t like her anymore.
I’m really liking C. Viper but she is a hard character. And I’m pretty new.

Suggestions? I’m still learning the basics btw.

Play through all the characters until you get a feel for one…on your own.
Trust me…you’ll learn alot about how you play this game.

You’ll likely grow an interest for another character now and then…It’s not necessarily bad to change as using any character for a while boosts your matchup knowledge between them and your current main, which is nothing short of beneficial.
Me for example, I had been going at and then dropped: E.Honda, Seth, Gouken, Fei, Cammy, Elf, Guile and Bison… right now it’s Ibuki, with Sakura as my main, i’ll likely be dropping Ibuki as well maybe a month from now, just a hypothesis, hope i won’t i just bought alt 3 costumes for her exclusively.

I mainly play gief and sim, but I have the most fun with Abel even though I’m HORRIBLE with him. Kinda bored with Balrog but he’s just too easy to give up.

Point is, if your not a pro this is not college where you NEED to pick a major. Play with everyone you want and over time you’ll settle with a major. Just don’t play too many characters at once, your head might explod trying to learn matchups.

– Sent from my Palm Pre using Forums

Pick a charge character. Guile, Balrog, Blanka. All easy to learn.

Srsly

I always considered myself as I ryu player, since SSFT, but when SF4 came out, for some reason I started to like balrog never knew how it happened I just started to play with him and got better, basically just pick fighters you feel comfortable with, shotos, charge or grappler and before you know you’ll keep going back to one particular fighter.