Why are most Viper players so aggressive? She seems to be a passive character

c-viper

You guys have been playing this game for far more than me I guarantee, I literally got it for Christmas and have been working my way through all of the challenges. I finally got through everything C.Viper has and I think that just b/c I spent so much damn time on her that I got attached and will probably main with her.

So here’s the question: Why does everybody use her as a rushdown character? When I watch the guys like Uryo, etc. play, they seem to always want to be close and throwing as many feints as possible, and basically holding forwards as much as they can.

It just seems the character has a far larger advantage from a distance where you can throw down Seismos, feints, or HJ Burning kick. Her crossup game is really strong and is almost the exact position I want to be in, and I try to set it up as much as I possibly can.

So whats the general reaction here? Am I just a complete noob and wrong, or is actually blocking with Viper ok?

Actually, I’m of the opinion that Uryo plays more patiently in tournament situations. His rushdown is pretty sick during casuals, but you can see the difference when he’s playing in a tournament.

Well obviously for lesser skilled players versus a fantastic C.Viper player you can assume that to some extent Viper’s with doing a rushdown is going to overwhlem the lesser player and they’ll freeze up or lose composure. At high skill levels, that isn’t as practical, but I still see a lot of people do it like that and then get punished.

tbh i thought that’s how her metagame evolved. I can see her being played like a ryu or ken (not in a scrubberly fashion); jabs and pokes into a l. TK and continue with strings, or end with a c. mk > burning Kick. If this is what her metagame is now, that would be totally awesome and would be cool if my friend picks up on this so that he becomes challenging to fight.