Wireless Router Suggestions

So my router is starting to have some problems. It keeps turning off on me randomly so I figure it’s time to buy another one. Right now I’m using the DLink WBR-2310. What would you suggest for under $100?

Linksys WRT54G-L no doubt.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124190

You can put custom firmware on it and it runs rock solid. That’s WRT54G-L, not WRT54G, there’s a difference!

:u: What kind of custom firmware? What exactly can you do with it?

Search DD-WRT, and it does EVERYTHING O_O

in addition to DD-WRT you can also put Tomato on it (the firmware not the fruit) which some say is better than DD-WRT. I’m no networking pro but at the very least it gives you a much more stable connection and is better at handling things like torrents.

I seen tomato before, I personally find DD-WRT friendlier to use and still does pretty much what tomato does. Hence why I suggest it, obviously its fun being techy, and messing with it, but sometimes you don’t have the leisure to mess to much all the time, and for my needs, which are somewhat demanding, DD-WRT does everything I need, and a while ago DD was the best, tomato was just starting out, dunno how it changed now though, I may have to look at tomato again :wink:

:u: yeah I definitely stay away from Tomato for those reasons. OP should definitely start out with DD-WRT. Also WRT54G-L isn’t the only router that can run custom firmware but it’s definitely the best.

:u: Thanks for the suggestion guys, I think I’ll try to pick up the router tomorrow. =D

I’ll prob grab DD-WRT tomorrow too and start to fiddle around with it.

btw, Sileighty is kinda $#%^#$^ much <3, no homo, X_X, lol, I play 3S with the guy, if he kills his router, lol took us 3 weeks to get him to connect to me to play, if tries anything remotely confusing, we most likely won’t play for months lol. So Monte should I give Tomato a try? I am running on an original WRT54G (the one with crazy amount of ram)