Xbox 360 to Astro City

So I am a complete noob when it comes to arcade cabinets, but I might be able to get a hold of an Astro City cabinet (Not New Astro City or Astro City II) with a Jamma setup. So I was reading that some people connected a Xbox 360 to the Astro City monitor using a VGA to CGA converter. I was just wondering if anyone had any experience with this and if this would indeed work?

I only know how it works on a NAC/Naomi, on those you just have to connect your X360 through a VGA cable to the monitor and hack 2 pads to use the joysticks/buttons.

Yea, apparently you can do that on Blast City cabs as well. The pad hacking I can do (or just order from modchipman if i’m lazy), but that would be cool if it can work for Astro, than again I wonder if the resolution would be really crappy. All input welcome!

Bump

It looks like you can find converters to go from vga to cga, but a quick google shows them ranging around $100-150. Also, there’s no guarantee that this converter won’t introduce some kind of lag into the game experience, so I would do some research on any converter you do plan on buying.

Once you have it converted to CGA, does the astro cab actually have a cga hookup on the monitor? If not, you’re going to need to find a way to hack this CGA into the jamma harness, maybe using a Jpac powered off the 360’s usb? (Just trying to think of clean ideas, you could also buy a male edge connector and sodler the needed cga pins maybe)

There also I/O jamma converters that are commonly found with Naomi systems, they could also do the cga->jamma work for you.

Hope that helps, I’m not an expert, I do have a bit of experience with cabs though. If someone sees something I posted and knows its total baloney, just let me know. :slight_smile: