XBox-Button of TE is broken

Hi!
I am not tech savvy at all when it comes to arcade sticks and their interior, so this might be kind of a newbie question. Sorry for that.

My Madcatz TE (all stock party, no changes made at all) was working fine for quite a while. After some time the XBox-button stopped working. I didn’t care because I play on PC so I could simply access everything via keyboard.

A few days ago the XBox button started to randomly cause a command to be excuted (open the GFWL-menu) as though the button just has been pressed. As you can imagine, this is pretty annoying during a match and makes playing almost impossible since it happens every 30 seconds or even more often. It even continues to do this when I put the lock-switch on “locked”.

Do you have any suggestions what to do? I bought the stick second hand so no warranty. I could open it but I probably would not see if anything was wrong anyways. You got any advice for me?

Does this happen on an actual Xbox360? Does your Turbo button work with the slider on the ‘Locked’ setting? Is anything resting on your keyboard when this happens? (Home button on keyboard does the same thing.)

I think I can exclude the keyboard because when I plug out the TE it stops and when i plug it in again it starts again.
The turbo button does not work when the lock switch is activated.
I tried the TE on a buddies console yesterday and the same problem occured :frowning:

Do the lights flash like it’s being replugged when this happens? On the console, is it just the normal menu (Dashboard, log out of Xbox live, etc) or the one with the Home button held down (shutdown console)? Are there periods where it doesn’t happen and the stick works normally?

It behaves as if the button was repeatedly pressed, not held down. So the menu opens and closes and opens again etc.