Yang's Dive Kick in 2012

yang

I’m really new to yang and understand his basic play and style. The one thing I am at a loss at is how safe and how combo-able his dive kick actually is. Is it viable in 2012 really? I tend to get hit out of it quite abit and I was wondering if any vets could give me the run down of where on the body is safe after the nerfs in 2012 and how it has changed?

Also, is it possible to cross up with his dive kicks? I know that his medium kick no longer does. Thanks guys, again I’m very new to Yang.

It’s still really viable but you need to space it correctly for it to work. I think HNIC Mike posted the picture with the frame data of it in the general discussion thread. His HK divekick is a really good option if your opponent likes to do sweeps or low forwards so it’s a good footsie tool. It’s not really a Rufus style divekick where you can do it all the time and pressure that way.

With correct spacing it is safe on block and will leave you with quite big frame advantage to combo from. Sure it rarely will leave you with enough advantage to combo a cl.MK for example but even a cl. MP is easily comboable with correct spacing. If you think you’ve hit the opponent from too high just crouch tech and if it hits it’s a free hit confirm. It’s his safest option because of it’s 3-frame start up, active frames and low hurtbox.

As for it’s uses as a cross up it’s character and set up specific. For example against Guy you could do a cross up MK divekick after a comboed MK Roll kick by delaying a forward jump and doing a divekick.

Thanks for the reply. So he has no readily accessible cross up, I guess i can see why people are so annoyed about losing that then considering the pressure you loss simply because you can’t pester people with cross ups, but at least there are ways even if it is char specific. I’ll practice my dive kicks and see how it goes.