Your button configurations

Is there a thread for this already? I looked but to no avail. I just got my TE stick and don’t understand the Arcade Stick controller settings default. I’ve never used a stick before and assumed the buttons were punches on top and kicks on bottom and they went from light to med to heavy. What do most people use?

Six Button:
LP-MP-HP
LK-MK-HK

SFIV 8 Button Default:
LP-MP-HP-3P(3 Punches)
LK-MK-HK-3K(3 Kicks)

I use (because the left most buttons are too close to the stick for me):
3P-LP-MP-HP
3K-LK-MK-HK

Thank you. I think I’m gonna go with like:

LP-MP-HP-x3
LK-MK-HK-x3

We’ll see how that does. I CANNOT do moves with this thing yet. Shoryuken? Ain’t happenin. Hadouken? Na.

One thing to consider is that if you ever think you might one day stumble upon an SF4 cabinet and want to throw down in public, you might find that muscle-memory based on an 8-button layout leaves you handicapped.

Personally, I switched off the 7th and 8th. I have no SF4 cabs anywhere near where I live, nor do I have any plans of ever going to somewhere that does, but… you know… just in case. :lol:

you’ll get it in time…

I was the same way with the pad, but that’s because I’ve been playing in the arcades since day one…

before there were guides to show you how to shoryuken, we learned to do it by a tiny counter clockwise circle in the lower right (if facing right, default 1st player) corner (small clockwise circle in the lower left, facing left, 2nd player default)… does it every time… the Z motion you see works too… both hit the switches the same…

ya im learning shoryukens on the stick now to. whats better the Z motion or the small circle? whats more reliable? i wanna learn the right way.

I have been doing the Z and getting it. The big problem for me is that the Sanwa buttons are SUPER sensitive (breath on one, you’ll see lol) and I hit the button before the full rotation. This freakin’ stick is amazing though. It feels so solid.