Zangief is NOT a Turtle

zangief

I played a somewhat high ranked Gief (11000+ gps) the other day who decided that after I got the life advantage, it would be best to stay a full screen away and wait for me to come to him. When I didn’t, he started throwing taunts. Finally, with 20 seconds left, he finally came after me, but it was too late. So I win by time out.

Second round, same shit.

So after the much, I get bombed with messages about how I am a scrub and a noob, and only noobs win with timeout.

morale of this story? YOU AREN’T A TURTLE. I WILL NOT COME RUNNING UP TO ZANGIEF, EVER. If you wanna hide a whole match, please do not bitch and whine when you lose simply because it didn’t work.

Well, it depends on the match. Sometimes, Zangief has to turtle. For example, I find no need to be aggressive against Blanka or Cammy. I got hate mail from a Blanka that was mad at me for not wanting to play into his game of trying to rush him down. I also got a disconnect from a Cammy once because I would just block his drills and punish him. I’m also pretty careful against Rogs because he can easily beat me in the air and out poke me with his sweeps. There’s more than one way to play a character.

I also love it when the other guy is running away from me for 90 seconds of the match when he has a life lead and I catch up with him and get a life lead myself, run away, and win by time out. That’s the best. I don’t get mad at people running away from me. That’s typically the best strategy against Zangief.

well i don’t consider my gief much of a rush down character unless hes working off a knockdown of course. but when i get a a life lead, i definitely will tone down my offense a bit and let them come to me. most characters don’t like to be forced into up close and personal battles with gief, especially when they have to force the action. but yea, if your losing, then you have to take risks and try to get inside, which mostly favors the other character.